Heidehaus logo 16b weinrot gr

My life has been like a quilt. I lived in places as diverse as Texas, Michigan and Pennsylvania, where I learned to quilt from the Amish and Mennonites, in the South of Germany where I was taught to spin wool and weave and in Kleve, in the Northwest of Germany, where I grew up and learned to knit, crochet and do fine needlework.

The old-fashioned way of fixing up and making do is sometimes forgotten in today's throwaway society. That's why I prefer fabric that is processed, worn, faded by years of wear or even considered worthless.

I have more than 29 years of quilting experience and worked out over 100 self-designed pieces. My work is greatly influenced by contacts with the Amish and Mennonite quilt art during my residence in the United States.


With regularity, I am represented in various group exhibitions, lectures and workshops in collaboration with textile and quilt exhibitions in museums. Restoration of antique textiles and commissioned work for private and public collections in Germany, Denmark; USA and the Netherlands claims part of my work.
I have worked freelance since 1984 in my own studio.

 

Gabriele Heinz Portrait

Gabriele Heinz

Home   Gabriele Heinz   Dollhouse   Quilts   Textile Restoration   Info Quilts   Links   Contact   Site Notice   Workshops   OEQC 2012 
a_flagge_holland05
animierte_deutschlandflagge

Heidehaus logo 16b weinrot gr

Mein Leben ist wie ein Quilt. Ich lebte an so unterschiedlichen Orten wie Texas, Michigan und Pennsylvania. In Pennsylvania lernte ich das Quilten von den Amish und Mennoniten, im Süden von Deutschland das Spinnen von Wolle und das Weben. In Kleve, im Nordwesten von Deutschland, wo ich aufgewachsen bin, lernte ich stricken, häkeln und feinste Stickereien auszuführen.
Die altmodische Art und Weise, Textilien zu reparieren und mit dem auszukommen, was man vorfindet, wird in der heutigen Wegwerfgesellschaft manchmal vergessen. Deshalb verarbeite ich Stoffe, die schon einmal benutzt wurden, getragen sind, oder nach Jahren der Abnutzung verblasst oder sogar als wertlos angesehen werden.
Ich habe mehr als 29 Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich Quilts und arbeitete mehr als 100 selbst entworfene Stücke. Meine Arbeit ist stark beeinflusst von meinen Kontakten mit den Amish People, den Mennoniten und deren Quilts, die ich während meines Aufenthalts in den Vereinigten Staaten kennen lernte.

Regelmäßig bin ich bei Gruppenausstellungen vertreten, gebe Vorträge und Workshops in Zusammenarbeit mit Textil-und Quiltausstellungen in Museen. Die Restauration von antiken Textilien und Auftragsarbeiten für private und öffentliche Sammlungen in Deutschland, Dänemark, USA und den Niederlanden beansprucht einen großen Teil meiner Arbeit.
Ich arbeite seit 1984 in meinem eigenen Studio.

 

Gabriele Heinz Portrait

Gabriele Heinz

Home   Gabriele Heinz   Puppenhaus   Quilts   Textilrestaurierung   Info Quilts   Links   Kontakt   Impressum   Workshops   mobile   OEQC 2012 
a_flagge_holland05
d_usa-07